Portrait Photography


Kind of short on funds this year to get family portraits done and had bought some dresses for my daughters an didn’t want them to go to waste so decided to head out to a local state park to and get some portrait photos myself of them. I think I did a decent job for my first try at this as a professional type setting. It was done with all natural lighting and did it on a partially cloudy day in order to utilize the clouds as a natural diffuser for the sun to hep prevent harsh shadows and more squinting.

I ended up using my 105mm macro lens for these and it helped with the more shallow DOF at f/2.8. It also helped that they were in a good mood and enjoyed getting their photos taken as well. I think I may continue to work with practicing with portraits a little more so I can get more photos of my kids to hang up without paying the extra cost of a photographer. Now only if I had a solution for the family portraits.

DSC_1395 DSC_1396 DSC_1405 DSC_1406 DSC_1417 DSC_1427 DSC_1432 DSC_1437 DSC_1455 DSC_1487 DSC_1490 DSC_1491 DSC_1492 DSC_1493 DSC_1515

15 thoughts on “Portrait Photography

        • My oldest daughter is very difficult to work with and doesn’t like to listen very well so we were surprised at how well she was for this. It helped to let her just run around and do what she wanted to do. The youngest had just gotten up from a nap in the car so that made it easier to work with her. When we have a planned photo session with a photographer it never works out because they don’t listen or my oldest doesn’t like the photographer so she won’t cooperate. This one was unplanned and we just decided to go at the last minute.

          Like

    • I’ve tried that in the past but it’s hard because you need to do a timed shot and hope everyone is in an acceptable pose when the shutter goes up. Might give it a go since a know more since the last time I tried though.

      Like

What do you think?

