ApocalypseClick on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 24mm
Aperture: f/4.5
Shutter Speed: 1/80
ISO: 100
Format: DX (Crop Sensor)

Although very cold, this was such a great view. Ice as far as the eye can see. This photo was taken over Lake Michigan. It was a very cold winter that had frozen the Great Lakes more than normal and allowed for scenes such as this one. I’m sure that I could have walked out on the lake for miles without any fear of dropping through. I wouldn’t though as the wind was strong which created a sub zero windchill. I do have another version of this shot in which the ice to the right is in focus and the lake and sunrise is out of focus that I will post at another time. After the fact, I did wish that I would have gotten then shot just a little more to the left without the ice on the right hand, but this is one of those shots that I wasn’t sure if I’d like it or not until after processing it. Such a hard thing to do to capture the moment as it was.

One thing I do love about this photo is the small sliver of space between the frozen lake and clouds where you can see just a sliver of the sunrise. I learned many things on this walk and since then I have always had hand/foot warmers packed in my camera bag. You just never know when you might need them.

Apocalypse

14 thoughts on “Apocalypse

  1. Wow striking shot Justin. I could have sworn you were in the Antarctic or arctic not Lake Michigan… and the sun peaking through its like “fire and ice”. Perfect!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Snow and Ice | J.T. Avery Photography

What do you think?

