Frozen Columns

Click on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 10mm
Aperture: f/3.5
Shutter Speed: 1/80
ISO: 100
Format: DX (Crop Sensor)

Due to the cold year we had this winter this is something that is not seen very often off of Lake Michigan. This happened to be a small ice berg of sorts that had columns of ice along one side. I’m not entirely sure how it formed the way it did but it was like an island of ice that floated in and then the lake around it had froze.

To view other monochrome images like this one visit Leanne Cole’s blog for her Monochrome Madness Challenge post that is done on Wednesday, Melbourne Australia time.

Monochrome Madness – Frozen Columns

11 thoughts on “Monochrome Madness – Frozen Columns

  1. What do I think? WHOA!!!! That berg is huge. And yes, I can relate to the cold because our past winter was brutal and the Great Lakes were frozen over the most they have been in hundreds of years. Let’s HOPE we do not have another winter like last! Seriously! Love, Amy

    Like

    • Thanks Amy! For WI, I think it was big, but for some regions, it might be considered small.

      I think I would have to disagree with your view on the winter. I very much enjoyed this past cold winter and hope for more to come as it creates very exciting photography adventures. As long as I’ve got the proper gear to keep me warm, I love to explore where there’s ice and snow.

      I can’t help but ask where you live? I understand if you don’t want to say but think it’s interesting to know as it helps me understand the areas you photograph. When I look at a photograph I always wonder where it was taken.

      Like

      • I live in WNY and I do not like the cold. Yes, I do have the proper dress attire to keep me warm. This year I have promised myself to no matter how I feel about it, to get outside to practice winter photography. And that is what I shall do. I am a warm sunny type of gal, and for me, the dreary cold is not easy. BUT change my thoughts and one never knows! xx Amy

        Like

        • I have found that I now have the proper gear packed, I enjoy it much more. A small list of essential items that are always in my photo bag wherever I go, just in case: spikes that slip over my shoes/boots, a multi-purpose tool in case I need to do some emergency work on the spikes (which I’ve had to do a couple times already as the links come undone at times), hand warmers, foot warmers, and different gloves for different occasions. The warmers and spikes I think were very nice to have at times as they have allowed me to enjoy the experience and be able to photograph it rather than just hurrying through or not going to certain vantage points due to the ice.

          Like

          • This past winter, in order for me to use the shutter, I had to slip my hand out of my very toasty warm glove, and in the process of a few seconds, my hand just about froze. Pain!!! I have to layer. That is the way to go. Spikes? Yee gads! You do some serious hiking, and as I said that, a park comes into mind where spikes would really come in handy. Yep, I have some planning to do.

            Like

    • Yes Laura, this was freezing! LOL. Although in the trees up on land it was in the teens to lower 20’s. Out on the lake the windchill had to be below 0. Having my hands out of the gloves for less than a minute to quickly adjust my tripod and change settings on my camera were enough to make me need to take a few minutes to get them warmed back up. I’m still on the lookout for some better gloves to invest in. Was it worth it? I think very much so! πŸ˜€

      I also took the time to just enjoy the view despite the cold as it is something I don’t get to see very often.

      Like

    • Thanks Cybele! I don’t mind the cold so much. I hate the heat though. Dressing in layers allows you to compensate for when it starts to warm up. You can always put more on but you can only take so much off. I have also found it is much cheaper to heat a house than to cool a house.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Monochrome Madness Week 19 | Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

What do you think?

