Flowing DownClick on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 24mm
Aperture: f/13
Shutter Speed: 30 seconds
ISO: 100
Format: FX (Full Frame)

After getting some photos of this water fall from below, I decided to find my way up to the top of it to see if there was any good angle to get a shot. I was not left disappointed as there were some rocks that didn’t have too much water flowing over them so I was able to set my camera upside down on my tripod to get a good angle on the falls. Usually on a nice day there are a lot of people swarming these falls making it hard to get any nice shots. I ended up planning a trip on a Saturday morningΒ  for sunrise despite the forecast showing rain. There were a couple other people from the photo group I am in that said they would come but canceled the day before due to the forecast for the morning. It did rain the entire drive there but as I arrived, it slowed to a sprinkle and that only lasted about 10 minutes or so. The remainder of the sunrise was spent with the clouds parting a bit. I am happy I decided to go as I had the whole place to myself and was done and left before anyone else showed up. I was also home in time for breakfast which was another plus.

Flowing Down

15 thoughts on “Flowing Down

  1. Nice shot. Isn’t it great when you decided to stick with something even though it mightn’t work out, ie the weather and get rewarded. Its part of the fun.

    Like

    • Thanks Karen! I think the best part of if was that I was there by myself so I didn’t have to deal with anyone else. I’ve been to those falls in the past when a lot of other people were there and it is much more difficult to get any good shot when everyone else is walking around.

      Like

    • Thanks Cybele! These are the ones I love doing the most. Although I do only have one ND filter so I want to get others at varying strengths. That would add to the complexity of my shots though. Right now I control the shutter speed by changing my aperture, which is not the best approach depending on the type of photo you want. In any case, I am happy that I can at least create these types of photos in daylight.

      Looking at this photo makes me want to pull out a chair, listen to the water rushing down, and read a nice book. If only life were that simple. πŸ™‚

      Like

What do you think?

