Built UpClick on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 10mm
Aperture: f/3.5
Shutter Speed: 1/80
ISO: 100
Format: DX (Crop Sensor)

It amazes me how these ice formations have formed. As the lake freezes over night it then begins to thaw during the day from the sun which allows the water to break and push the ice on itself as it gets closer to shore. Eventually you get scenes like this all across the shore of the lake with tons of ice that create a wall of sorts. As the edges start to melt from the heat of the sun it then starts to form icicles as it freezes again. I am happy that the lake itself had frozen over enough to allow me to walk along the side of the wall instead of on the top of it where I wouldn’t have been able to view what nature had provided. Even though I was alone on this trip it was a great experience as I had never seen anything like it before.

Built Up

3 thoughts on “Built Up

    • Thanks Laura! I believe it was handheld as it was too cold to be messing with the tripod more than I had to. I find that with the ultra wide angle lenses you can shoot at very slow shutter speeds compared to the telephoto lenses. I find myself utilizing breathing techniques I learned in the army for shoot rifles when I shoot with the camera. I also brace my arms or find something to brace against when shooting slower shutter speeds as well. It’s pretty much become instinct now. I’m thinking for next winter though my tripod will become a permanent addition to my camera so I don’t have to keep taking it on and off. lol

      Like

      • I use hand-held a lot because I can’t carry around my tripod unless my husband is with me…he carries my gear lol. I know those techniques as well and think I can do pretty well with hand-held these days, and yes, the wide angle lends itself to hand-held a lot easier than zooms.

        Like

What do you think?

