Snow Cave 1

Snow Cave 2

Click on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 10mm
Aperture: f/3.5
Shutter Speed: 1/1600
ISO:100
Format: DX (Crop Sensor)

When I came across these I immediately thought “ice caves!”. Of course if someone wanted to stay in them they would need to shovel some snow out, but I think they were good enough to get out of the wind if needed. Looking at them makes me wonder how they were formed as they were the only ones in the area. There may have been more along the coast somewhere, but from the looks of it, probably not very many.

Snow Cave

4 thoughts on “Snow Cave

  1. When was this shot? And where? Most people want photos of beaches and flowers blooming right now. They don’t want to be reminded of winter- well, all except me, maybe. It was 109 today. I can’t wait for winter! I love these shots! 😉

    Like

    • Thanks Emilio! I think this shot was taken in March. The location was in Newport State Park in Door County Wisconsin along the shore of Lake Michigan. It does seem as though you’re not the only one who is enjoying these as I continue to get people who ‘like’ them. I do have some photos of flowers and waterfalls, no beaches though, but want to get these posted as I have quite a few. I do tend to get out and shoot a lot more in the winter than any other season. Spring and fall don’t last too long so there’s not much of a window and being in Wisconsin, winter has the longest window for me to shoot. I am happy that you continue to enjoy them though. 🙂

      Like

What do you think?

