Minnehaha Falls

Click on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 105mm
Aperture: f/7.1
Shutter Speed: 1/250
ISO: 100
Format: FX (Full Frame)

I managed to get up close to the falls and get a couple long exposure shots with a wide angle lens, but there was so much mist coming off of these falls that the photos just didn’t turn out at all. I ended up compromising with the falls instead and used my macro lens at a farther distance and ended up stitching together 3 landscape shots to get what seems like a portrait shot. This was a nice park to visit, although I don’t know if I’ll make it back again. I did enjoy the morning I went. I think that these falls run all year round as this small river goes into the Mississippi right in the middle of the Twin Cities.

Minnehaha Falls

2 thoughts on “Minnehaha Falls

    • Thanks Cybele! While these falls were quite loud, I’ve been to a smaller set that were even louder yet. I have found that it’s not the distance the water falls that makes the loudest sound but the rate at which the water falls where more water going down a shorter distance makes more sound that less water going down a longer distance.

      Like

What do you think?

