Little Falls

Click on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 24mm
Aperture: f/13
Shutter Speed: 61 seconds
ISO: 100
Format: FX (Full Frame)

When I go somewhere, I like to explore as much as I can if I have the time to do so. This photo was taken down stream from a waterfall that I had photographed about half an hour from my house. I probably wouldn’t really consider these falls by any means as the water really doesn’t have that far to fall, but to an insect it would probably feel like large falls. There’s also a very small window to be able to capture this area of the stream as well. Too early and the water is rushing so fast that you’ll never see this view. Too late and it’s all dried up.

I visited this area about a month before I got this shot and the water was just rushing too fast. I then visited again a few weeks after I got this shot and there was hardly any water running. I think I might try to visit it in the fall when the leaves start turning to see what the scene looks like. May be worth it.

Little Falls

13 thoughts on “Little Falls

  1. WHOA!!! I just looked at your shutter speed. I’ve never shot at 61 seconds. Most I have done is 30 seconds. But now that I have the remote shutter release I can do over 30 seconds. You inspired me to keep experimenting.

    Like

    • I usually go off the camera’s max setting of 30 seconds to get a baseline depending on the amount of light. If I can get away without using the ND filter, I try, but since I’ve got only one and it’s a 9-stop filter, it’s an all or nothing sort of deal. I also have a stop watch I use so I usually try to time it for 15-second intervals. So if 60 seconds isn’t quite there, I’ll do 75 seconds and so on. I’ve had times where it would take me about 10 minutes or so just to get one shot due to all the long exposure shots I had to do. It gets a bit more difficult when your doing 2+ minute shots.

      Like

      • Wow!!! I can just imagine. Slow shutter speeds can be tricky yet I must admit, I have been lucky with them. Working with only a polarized lens can be challenging as well, for I am not able to work with water unless it is cloudy or the sun is low in the sky. Or, the water is under deep shade. I will have to experiment with longer exposure times. You really did a great job on these images, Justin. Love, Amy

        Like

        • In case you don’t know this already, I learned that the arrow on the circular polarizer filters should be pointed towards the sun to give you the best results to help with reflections. I don’t have one of those filters yet so I can’t confirm this but learned it in a photo seminar the other week. Might help a little.

          Like

          • Hmmmm……an arrow? I must have missed that. I know I just keep turning my filter until the effects I want are seen. I will have to check my filter out. Thank you so much, Justin, for another helpful hint. Love, Amy

            Like

    • Thanks Cybele! Yes. The ND filter I use is the Hoya ND400 which is a 9-stop filter. I want to get a couple weaker ones as I don’t always need the 9-stop. Sometimes a 20 second exposure looks the same as a 1 1/2 minute exposure so in those cases it would be nice. I think it’s one of the best investments I’ve made as I always like to do long exposure.

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

