Where the Stream Meets the River

Click on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 21mm
Aperture: f/16
Shutter Speed: 20 seconds
ISO: 100
Format: FX (Full Frame)

It’s hard to believe that a place like this exists in the middle of St. Paul near the airport. It is nice that you can view many houses and the busy lives of people and then walk a short distance and nature is all around you. I think it’s important for places like this to exist within the larger cities to allow the locals to have the opportunity to get out and enjoy a place where they are surrounded by nature and can forget, for at least a moment, about their busy city lives. I don’t think I’d ever be able to live in a large city, but if I ever find myself living in one, I hope it has places like this to visit so I can enjoy what I like most.

Something that is kind of funny, every time I bring up the editor to create a new post I always say “Beep Beep Boop” when the thing pops up out loud and my 19 month old daughter starts walking around and saying it. “Beep Beep Boop. Beep Beep Boop.” I always switch over to the classic view to create my posts but at least WordPress’s new editor gives me a laugh every day. I think the “Beep Beep Boop” is a nice touch but in this case it’s more like icing on a very bad cake.

Where the Stream Meets the River

7 thoughts on “Where the Stream Meets the River

  1. Such an amazing shot Justin and what a view! Here where we live is that ‘place’ where the city folks come to on weekends. We also tried the city life and it’s no fun.

    hehehehee! At least you have something to laugh at when the Beep beep boop starts. Your daughter sounds adorable. 😀

    I totally agree with your icing and cake saying. Well said! 😆

    Like

    • Thanks Robyn! My sister-in-law lives in the area and my wife and I went to visit there towards the end of winter. I had heard about this park and figured I would take a chance to go and check it out. I hadn’t done much pre-planning and had only been able to view maps online and other photos of the park. Of course most photos tend to be of the waterfall and I didn’t actually see any for this place. I was originally planning on just going to the falls and photographing around that area but the night before I changed my plans to take a chance and head to the other end of the park as I noticed the stream led into the river and was facing the right direction for a sunrise. I’m happy I made this choice as I don’t think I would have gotten any shots like I was able to get at this location. We also rarely ever go over there so I’m glad it also turned out nice because I don’t have the opportunity for a redo on these photos like I do on many others that I post as those areas are much closer.

      I think I like kids around the age of 1 1/2 – 3 because they are learning so much and have a personality where they seem to be happy a lot with lots of energy and aren’t quite yet at the stage where they start to talk back and think they own you. It’s also exciting every day when I get home because she’s always so excited to see me and runs to give me a hug and kiss. Soon enough though and she’ll be like my 5 year old where she’ll just say hi and not want to listen. lol. But my 5 year old is much easier to bring along with when photographing because she listens a little better when we are out and about. Or should I say walkabout? 😛

      Like

      • Glad you took the chance. It totally worked!! Most enjoyable to visit unknown places. Its fun exploring 🙂
        Your kids sound adorable.. and fun, whatever stages they’re at.
        Little girls love their Dads 🙂

        Like

What do you think?

