Rusted Link

Click on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 105mm
Aperture: f/29
Shutter Speed: 1/8
ISO: 100
Format: FX (Full Frame)

I like chains and I like rusted things so why not combine the two. I didn’t have the luxury of working with my tripod with this shot so for the DoF I wanted, I had to think of something as I needed a slower shutter speed but I also didn’t want to sacrifice the quality with a macro shot so I wanted my ISO to stay at 100. I ended up finding a place to set the chain and sitting my camera near it so I could achieve this shot. I was happy with the detail I was able to capture.

I am also happy to say that this is the first photo I have processed with my new software from the Google Nik Collection. I am happy to have that software package now as I am able to do much more with it than I could achieve with LR. I think it’ll add a little more time to my workflow for processing but I think it’s well worth it as I love the results much more. I think I’d be able to get a lot of the same results with LR on it’s own, but just don’t have the time to work with all the adjustments to try and get the same results.

This is also my submission for Leanne Cole’s and Laura Macky’s Monochrome Madness Challenge hosted over at Leanne Cole’s blog. Check it out every Wednesday if you don’t already to view a lot of great work.

Rusted Link – Monochrome Madness Challenge

5 thoughts on “Rusted Link – Monochrome Madness Challenge

      • I just started doing that. Linking. I’ve been setting up a website on Squarespace and the quality on there is great! And I’m working on revamping all my photos on flickr, starting over from scratch. What size do you load onto wordpress? I didn’t realize I’d run out of room!

        Like

        • I have presets I created in LR for exporting. One is named Flickr and one WordPress. I have the Flickr one set with no export constraints so it does full size. The one for WordPress I have set to export with the width being 1000 pixels and let it set the rest of the settings. I’ve been using LR for awhile as my main hub that all my photos go through. It’s been working out nice as a cataloging tool as well as some processing. I have folders set up for my in process photos, then put them in my processed folder after they are ready for export, then once exported, they move to my exported folder. I also have year folders under each level so I know what year I took them in. So far it’s just 2013 and 2014, but as I don’t see this hobby going away, it’ll grow to more. Once exported, I have a folder on my drive that I place all my photos ready for posting, then another folder I move those to once they are posted so I know what I post and where. I know it takes up more space because I usually have 3 full res photos of each, one RAW and two jpg versions, plus a small version. Of the two high res jpg versions, one has my signature, and the other doesn’t. I like this method because if I ever want to just grab one of the versions, then it’s ready. I just need to go to the proper folder to grab it. It’s pretty much the only way to keep sane with the photos. I’ve got about 80 ready for posting, 110 that are processed and awaiting export, and another 50+ that are awaiting processing. Plus I’ve got some pano shots that I’m not sure when I’ll get to. I keep pushing them back as they tend to take a bit more time to deal with. I know eventually, if I want to keep them all, I’ll need some external storage. I just haven’t gotten there yet. And I know I should back them up, but haven’t done that either. I’ve still got about 350gb out of 750gb free though, so I’m not worried yet. Maybe when I get down to about 100gb free or so.

          Like

          • I’m going to have to read this over again for it to sink in. I am using external storage for all my photos, as well as the hard drive on my pc. I have photos from 2010 through now but those from 2010 are before I bought my dslr. I have Canon T2i with the kit lens and I hated the quality before I bought Lightroom just last year. Now I’m satisfied but still planning to upgrade as soon as I save up enough money.

            Like

What do you think?

