The Ledge

Click on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 120mm
Aperture: f/4
Shutter Speed: 1/400
ISO: 400
Format: FX (Full Frame)

Sometimes a nice simple B&W photo with very little to it is more appealing than a colorful photo with many interesting subjects. I’ve found that the more I do photography the more I enjoy the photos with simple subjects. I like not having to move my eye all around the photo trying to determine what subject I want to look at the most. Having just one subject that is the focus makes it so much easier to look at the photo.

Something that I want to try working on the next time I have a chance is doing some shallow DoF long exposure shots. I’ve done a little of that in the past with some falls but not to the extent that I want to. Like the photo above, I’d like to see what it’d look like if I were to have a more shallow DoF to see if the long exposure actually helps with the photo or if it’s not noticeable enough to make it worth it. I’d also like to do the same for a sunrise/sunset.

The Ledge

6 thoughts on “The Ledge

    • Thanks Shane! I’m hoping to get out to a beach this weekend to do a recon on a future sunrise photo that I’m hoping to do some shallow DoF experimenting with. Of course I’ll also take my traditional shots too as I don’t want to make a 1+ hour drive after getting up at 4 a.m. with possible failed photos. That’s the downside side of experimenting is the chance of nothing turning out, but on the upside, you either learn what not to do or what can be done for future shots. 🙂

      Like

What do you think?

