Iced Over

Click on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 28mm
Aperture: f/2.8
Shutter Speed: 1/400
ISO: 100
Format: FX (Full Frame)

I’m always intrigued by the designs that a thin layer of ice on the top of water make. It’s interesting how it’s cold enough to freeze such a thin layer while the water under stays liquid.

Something I’ve been wanting to do a lot lately is test out different filters to see what kind of photos I can get. I’m not the type of person that can go out and buy a cheap version and hope for good results. Plus I don’t think that one can do proper testing when using a lower quality version as you won’t get the same results. Two filters in particular that I’m interested in is a circular polarizer and a IR filter. The circular polarizer I’m looking at is $200, the Hoya HD2 circular polarizer. Maybe a bit of overkill but what I’ve seen from the HD2 filters are that they are near indestructible which is nice. The IR filter i’m looking at is the Hoya R-72 IR filter. From what I’ve seen, even with modern DSLR’s without being converted, you can still get some decent IR photos with that filter. That one at least is more in my price range around $100. Might be interesting to give it a go.

It’d be interesting to try an IR light trail photo. I think that if you can’t get anything good once the sun goes down then just show up on location when the sun is still up, take your IR photo, then sit around and relax until the stars are ready. Then you capture all your star photos then merge the IR photo with the stacked star trails photo to get your IR star trails photo.

Iced Over

6 thoughts on “Iced Over

  1. Sometimes WordPress is weird… It seem that I am not following you… How can this be real?

    This pictures is really great and the composition also. Good job!

    Like

    • Thanks Meho! Thanks to you and a couple others that I follow I have learned how to take better photos with the use of shallow DoF. I learn a lot just by looking at others photos.

      I find that I have to re-follow people that I know I was following before. Not sure why it does it but you’d think that they’d have that fixed by now.

      Like

What do you think?

