Cross Orbweaver Monochrome

Click on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 105mm
Aperture: f/14
Shutter Speed: 5 seconds
ISO: 100

I ended up taking 25 shots of the photo I posted yesterday in order to give a try at photo stacking. If you compare this one to that one you can see that there is much more in focus. I’ve only used the trial version of the photo stacking software Zerene Stacker but I think it gives good results so far. I also processed in Silver Efex Pro for the monochrome part. I think I may end up purchasing this software if I can get results like this every time. I think it’d be well worth it.

This is also my submission for Monochrome Madness Challenge hosted on Leanne Cole’s blog every Wednesday. View it to see more great photos by many other photographers!

Cross Orbweaver – Monochrome Madness

18 thoughts on “Cross Orbweaver – Monochrome Madness

  1. The spider’s details are amazing in your image. I’ve resisted trying focus stacking, but a shot like this is causing me to reconsider that position. I like spiders a lot and the image really reaches out and grabs the view (fortunately not literally).

    Like

    • Thanks Mike! This was a moment where I was doing one thing and got side tracked and decided to get some photos of this spider. My original intent was just to get a couple macro shots but as I took a couple photos I decided that I would attempt to get a group of them to do some photo stacking because I’ve been wanting to do that for awhile and she seemed like a good subject for the experiment as she didn’t move at all. I think it turned out quite nice. I also did a different angle with about 40 something photos that I’ll be running through the software to see what that looks like as well. I’m hoping for good results like this one.

      Like

    • Thanks Ben! I agree wit you completely. I really liked the results with the first photo, but then I ran all my photos through the photo stacking software and then through Silver Efex Pro and then was more impressed with this version. I think if I would not have put in the time to get the extra photos and do photo stacking I would not have gotten nearly as good results. I also tried stopping the lens down as far as it would go but there was a lot of loss of sharpness due to the light diffraction.

      Like

  2. Pingback: MM30 – Monochrome Madness 30 | Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

What do you think?

