The Hook

Click on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 16mm
Aperture: f/4
Shutter Speed: 1/50
ISO: 400

This is one of my photos from the World Wide Photo Walk that was on Saturday. I was happy with this walk and the photos I came away with. I will be posting them over the next week or so.

When I look at this photo I see a lot of improvement in my work over the last year. I think if I would have been in this same situation a year ago, I would not have gotten anything close to this. I used to be in the mindset that a photograph should never have under exposed or over exposed areas in order to be a good one. This one has both but to me it creates a nice piece of art. I haven’t been placing any new work on my FAA site but I’m thinking that if I continue to go more down this route with creating more photographic art photos that have more processing done to them than I have done in the past, then I might have more work that would have more of a chance at being bought.

During this walk I have also learned that I’m starting to figure out the style I’d like to stick with more. It may be just a phase but it’s been something that I’ve been working on over the past few months so to me it doesn’t really seem like a phase so much. If I were to categorize the work I enjoy doing the most, I’d say that it’s more about the shallow DoF that includes both interesting foreground and background elements with more emphasis on the foreground elements. I think that my wide angle lens will really help with this aspect as it allows me to have a somewhat close focusing distance but allows me to include a large array of other elements. Somewhat of wide angle macro photography, which I’ve been interested in almost since the start of my photographic journey.

Doing this type of photography is also helping me see more of the little things around me that I can try to work into a shot with larger items. The way I see myself working is that I find a larger item that I think I can work with then look around for something that is small but still interesting. I think if I can work this in a bit more with other types of photography I like to do such as long exposure then I will be able to create more unique shots.

The Hook

2 thoughts on “The Hook

What do you think?

