Up the Flag Pole

Click on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 16mm
Aperture: f/4
Shutter Speed: 1/250
ISO: 100

When coming upon this building I knew I wanted to photograph it but wasn’t sure exactly how. I seen as others walked by snapping shots of it then moving on. I couldn’t help but wonder how close each of their shots would resemble one another and couldn’t think of a unique perspective so I just passed it by knowing I would pass it again on the way back through. Once I made my way to it again I decided to take a walk around to see if I could find a way to capture it from a different angle. As I made a full circle around the building I took notice of this old flag pole and the rope quickly caught my attention. I took a landscape oriented shot at first but noticed how I didn’t like the top of the flag pole getting cut off so turned my camera to portrait orientation and captured it how I wanted it. While the building may not be the main subject in this photo, I did achieve my goal. I was able to create a photo that is possibly unique and most definitely different than the photos the other photographers took during this photo walk.

Up the Flag Pole

10 thoughts on “Up the Flag Pole

    • Thanks Carrie! This photo walk was done on a historical state park so it’s not my usual type of scenery but it was where the photo walk was setup to be and I always like to go on a photo walk with other photographers. I honestly wasn’t expecting to get much of anything but found that with a little creativity and using some of my recent knowledge and experience I was able to capture some photos that I am much happier with than I thought I would be.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks iosatel! I’ve been learning more recently that properly exposing a photo doesn’t necessarily make it better. I’ve been purposely under and over exposing different parts of my photos recently to help them become more ‘alive’. I used to work so hard at getting all areas of my photos to be properly exposed but never understood why they didn’t look how I envisioned they would but now I have more of an understanding of how to make that happen. It has been an exciting journey and I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon. šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Damn, you’re getting me excited to go out shooting this weekend. Seeing through different eyes is not possible, I guess, but seeing differently is and I can’t wait to just take my time to find new angles and new perspectives of whatever I come across. Thanks, J.T.

    Like

    • Thanks Emilio! I’m always looking forward to expanding my creativity when I can and one way to do that is to continue to push my limits to try and see something in a different view than I didn’t think of before. I’ve been really enjoying working with shallow DoF lately, especially on the wide angle aspect, because it really helps me in knowing what I can do when viewing things differently. I’ve been getting a little better at knowing what something may look like when shot at certain settings with a wide angle lens close up and continue to like the results. I’m always looking to do more as well. I’m going to be heading out to a pumpkin patch farm this week. One of my goals will possibly be get some shots of my kids there but then I hope to also get some fall photos with some pumpkins. I’m not setting any expectations though because I’ve learned long ago that when you set expectations it can lead to disappointment. If you don’t expect much, then you can’t be disappointed. šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

