Into the Sun

Click on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 35mm
Aperture: f/11
Shutter Speed: 1/100
ISO: 100

As I was walking down the beach I noticed this group of geese flying. Due to the limited time of reaction I had to get this shot I quickly composed it the best I could and didn’t pay attention to what the settings on my camera were. Seconds after capturing the shot the geese were already too far on the other side of the sun to get anything that would have been decent. I looked at the photo on the back of the camera and thought for sure that I wouldn’t keep this photo as it seemed way too overexposed. After letting it sit in LR for a couple of weeks I decided to see if I could make anything out of this photo. Because of the dynamic range my camera has I was able to lower the exposure quite a bit and it turned out to be a decent shot after all. I also think of a sunset when looking at this photo but it is actually a sunrise shot.

Into the Sun

4 thoughts on “Into the Sun

    • That’s ok. Sunrise or sunset is irrelevant when viewing a photo unless you want to be at the same location in which you need to know the direction the photo was shot so you know which one it is. I prefer sunrise photos though so I don’t have to drive home in the dark, or be too tired while driving. While I used to not be a morning person, due to the time I have to get up for work every morning, I have found that it is much easier to do now than in the past. Thankfully I wasn’t doing photography back then or I would have missed many great opportunities. lol.

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

