Convesations

Click on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 105mm
Aperture: f/8
Shutter Speed: 1/200
ISO: 100

I was originally planning on processing this in color but I like it much more in monochrome. While looking at it I couldn’t help but think that it’s almost as though the two tiny insects have found a peaceful place to hang out and just have a conversation. Wouldn’t it be nice to do that every once and awhile with your friends and family?

Going off topic a bit from this photo, but still about photography, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what I ultimately want to do with photography. I thought I had it somewhat figured out but then I found myself running in circles again on what I thought I wanted. Then it dawned on my and I realized that photography is one of those things that evolve over time. What I was focused on a year ago, or even 6 months ago, isn’t really what I’m focused on now. I’m not sure what I’ll be focused on a few months from now or even a year, but I do know that it’ll be something with photography.

How I’ve progressed in my photographic journey is that I started out not really paying attention to what the photograph looked like, but if it was in focus and for the most part exposed correctly. But I wasn’t focused on the photo itself, I was focused on getting the settings right. Because of this I understand why I don’t like my past photos as much as my more recent ones because now the settings are second nature and it’s much more about the photo and less so about the equipment.

So now that I realize this I asked myself exactly what I want to do with photography. I know some photos I want to get and have some ideas in mind, but they really don’t have any purpose. It’s more of experimenting with different effects to kind of see what I can get. When I take a step back I find myself looking at a bit of a pattern with myself. I find a particular type photo I find myself drawn to and then I dissect it picking out the elements I like and don’t like. Based on my outcome of that I take the elements of the photo I do like and try to replicate them, but always with different types of subjects. What I come away from with this is an understanding that the subject that I’m photographing isn’t always what make the photograph interesting, but the technique that’s applied to getting the photo.

To take this one step further, I’ve been in the process of trying to set up a bit of a project for myself with combining different techniques together that others haven’t tried or some say that it wouldn’t be interesting or worth it. So with this in mind I ask myself, what is my ultimate goal? As many of you that follow my blog have noticed, my work has been slowly turning more to the artistic side of photographic art but still looking like a photograph. I don’t know if I even know my ultimate goal yet but I do know that I want to continue to grow my ability to take photos with any condition that is presented to me. I continue to amaze myself with what I can come up with when initially looking at the scene before me I see nothing. Taking a few more looks I can usually come up with something that is unique.

I’m not sure where all of this will go but I’m hoping some of my experiments in the near future turn out so that I can start to apply some techniques together. I don’t want to talk about what I want to do exactly as it’s hard to explain but I’ll be getting the rest of my testing gear in the mail by the end of the week and hopefully will be able to run some experiments over Thanksgiving weekend. If things work out like I hope they will then I’ll show some photos of what I want to accomplish with a bit of knowledge on how to create such results. If it doesn’t pan out, then I know I’ll just head in another direction and still push forward.

Another thing that I also thought of is that I think I need to take a photo of the place I’m getting my photos in to show people what I have to work with and then see what I have created with that environment. I think it would be helpful as you don’t get to see that too often. Some of the photos I get that I really like are taken of things that just don’t seem like they would make a nice photo, but end up working out due to the effects I apply.

Convesations

4 thoughts on “Convesations

    • Thanks Laura! I plan on doing more shallow DoF shots in B&W over the winter. I didn’t do too many of these last winter because I wasn’t exactly sure on what I was doing. After learning quite a bit over the summer I have changed focus and have plans for this winter. I’ll even try to incorporate some long exposures in there as well. If any of these photos turn out half as good as I envision them, then I’ll be really happy. 🙂

      BTW, I got a call from the place I have the Nikon 20mm f/1.8 lens on order through and they said that it should be in in another two more weeks or so. I know I could have gotten it by now if I would have went online through Amazon or something, but I like this place and I don’t have to pay anything for warranty work, not even shipping. Plus I feel it’s better to support a locally owned shop than an online multi-billion dollar company if you know what I mean. Plus, I already give Amazon plenty of money each year. Anyways, I think that the lens will work perfectly with my workflow for doing shallow DoF landscape shots with its 7.9″ close focusing distance. I’ll also be testing out some new ND filters over Thanksgiving break and hopefully do some posts on them. I’ll be comparing them against Hoya to see how they stand up to a more “professional” brand. They’ve got good reviews but are much much cheaper. I’m talking saving over $100 which is huge for a lot of photographers. I’m hoping they do good so I can pursue more of my experiments without needing to wait until I have an extra $600+ laying around. Now I can’t help but think about how much extra money I could save up for retirement if I didn’t have this hobby. LOL

      Like

What do you think?

