DSC_2183-2

Here is the final post for December’s One Four Challenge. I know this one may be a bit more high contrast B&W that some people like, but I like the effect that it gives. I want to work more on the high contrast photos where you get more bright areas and dark areas. What I did with this version was slightly crop it in from the right to get the edge of the flower closer to the edge of the frame. I then made sure that the background was completely under exposed so it was completely black. Then I wanted to up the brightness of the petals on the flowers to give them a sort of glowing/light effect as though they are providing light themselves.

I was able to get this look with just LR alone and did not need to export to Silver Efex at all. I was talking to another photographer and mentioned that I wasn’t able to get what I wanted out of LR for my B&W photos and explained what I wanted and he mentioned to play around with the white balance and colors and it would get me what I wanted. I took this into consideration for this photo and found out that it does work. As you know from last weeks post, I mostly got where that photo was by doing this technique then switching back to color to see what it would look like.

I’ve since been trying this technique with other photos when converting and I have to say that it is a good way of going about getting specific looks when converting to B&W. I hope you all have enjoyed the photos this month and like the previous weeks I have included the previous photos below and a poll at the bottom so you can vote for which version you like the most. I have also decided to link each photo to it’s original post so you can see them a little bigger with just a click if you want. Now off to look forward to Christmas and look for next month’s photo to use for this challenge!

DSC_2183-3

Week 3 Processing

Week 2 Processing

Week 2 Processing

Week 1 Processing

Week 1 Processing

RAW

RAW

 

ONE FOUR CHALLENGE – DECEMBER WEEK 4

16 thoughts on “ONE FOUR CHALLENGE – DECEMBER WEEK 4

  1. Oh no, I honestly can’t chose. I love this week’s version in BW, it takes on a pine cone like look, to me. Which is an added bonus during the holiday season. I love it. It glows from the inside out. Really Beautiful. But, then last week’s (which I didn’t see for some reason) process is also, just so subtle and beautiful, I love the color choices in last week’s image. It is very tastefully done. Well done, J.T. really well done!

    Like

      • Great to meet a fellow veteran! I have been blessed to get a great MOS so have tons of photos. In an odd way, I would like to relive parts of those deployments just for the photo ops, lol. Each year, I learn more and more so I figure, I could do a better job now. From what I have seen so far, your shots are amazing. I will learn a lot more from you I bet.

        Like

  2. Loved the original and then following through kept thinking this one’s better, no this one and now the B&W. This crop and processing makes it a stand out image for me and thanks for the info on how you achieved it in LR. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with next year.

    Like

    • Thanks Lee! I agree with you on each one getting better. After doing one version then moving to the next I try to achieve a look that was better than the last. I think that helps with the challenge as well. It’s hard to make something that is worse than the previous version. I finally got the time to get my next months photos ready. I’ll be working a lot of hours this next month and won’t have much time so had to get them ready in advance. I don’t think they will disappoint.

      Like

      • Looking forward to seeing them Justin. Haven’t started looking for an image to use for Jan yet and here you’ve done yours all in advance, must get onto it 🙂

        Like

  3. Hello Justin and Merry Christmas – hope yours was filled with fun and laughter 😃
    I agree with Lee. Each week seemed to get better and I do love your striking BW, taking it to abstraction again.
    You know though, I keep going back to the RAW. For me that one draws me in. Having said that Ive really enjoyed your experiments in all directions this past month. Glad youre planning ahead for January 😀
    Happy New Year Justin!! 🎉 😃

    Like

What do you think?

