A Hint of Light in the Dark

Click on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 105mm
Aperture: f/7.1
Shutter Speed: 1/200
ISO: 320

Finally! A break away from work and being busy and I was able to get some processing done! I’ve got 4 new photos lined up for this week. Although it is winter now, the photos are all from this past summer. I haven’t been able to make it out much for this winter yet but I’m hoping to soon.

This photo is the first of many that I’ve been working on where I’m being more simplistic with the content in the photo and applying more of a low key look. I almost wanted to process this photo with bright greens but couldn’t get it to look how I wanted and then I took a different approach and came up with this. I’m much more happier with this edit and like how the sunlight was lighting up the drops of rain and I was able to keep the leaf of the plant more dark.

A Hint of Light in the Dark

5 thoughts on “A Hint of Light in the Dark

        • That’s great to hear Laura! The only thing I’m concerned with is that it’s a very fine line between being just right and being too dark or too light and what really will make it difficult is that I’m processing based on the calibration of my monitor so the way I see it may be different than the way others see it based on their monitor calibration. So I’m hoping that others will hopefully be able to view the photo close to the way that I have processed it to look like. But I guess that’s the challenge with more artistic pieces.

          Like

          • Oh the dreaded calibration! I understand what your plight since my photos are more like photo art. Just fyi, my screen shows your shot as perfectly exposed for the low key effect. It’s stunning here!

            Like

What do you think?

