Awaiting Growth

Click on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 105mm
Aperture: f/5
Shutter Speed: 1/200
ISO: 100

A pine cone sits in the sand waiting for it’s seeds to take root to grow into a new tree. It’s not common to see a lot of sand in Wisconsin but it’s there in a few places. This was taken in a park that I went to hoping to find one thing but ended up finding another. With the wide angle lens on hoping to get some nice landscape shots, I had to switch over to the macro lens and look at the smaller picture. I’m always glad I carry multiple lenses with me when I visit places.

On a side note, I know this is technically a photography blog and even changing the title doesn’t help that the url still has “photography” in it, but I have been debating on whether or not to share a fiction story I’ve worked on with others here. After doing this small snippet I have been pondering on whether or not to start sharing my story piece by piece which may give me some motivation to finally get to finishing it. In short I basically came up with a unique story line and created a whole new world with a map and towns with back stories to family histories and a lot of things. In other words, I’ve already put a lot of time into this. I started it back in 2006 and worked on it every chance I could find but never really got anywhere, especially once I started a family and got a day job. And now with photography I’ve got even less time. I’ve got the outline done to do three books so all I really need to do is just fill in the details. So here’s where you all come into play. I don’t really want to post any of it if no one is interested so is there anyone that would be interested in reading my work even though this is a photography blog? I don’t really want to create a second blog since it’s hard enough to keep up with one. Thanks!

Awaiting Growth

10 thoughts on “Awaiting Growth

    • Thanks Shannon! It took me almost a year to come up with the story idea I had without copying something else that was out there. I’ve found that it’s much easier for me to create a unique photo vs. a unique story line. I think in the next couple of weeks I’ll have to go over the Prologue I have written and see if it needs any fine tuning then post it. I wish I could add photos to go along but that would take too much work and I’m not good with portrait photography. For some parts I may be able to use some of my landscape photography though.

      Like

  1. That little pine cone is very sweet, I like the perspective on the overall image as well.
    As for your writings, I say go for it. Many of the photographers I follow (including me) include snippets of a story, writings, thoughts and poems with their images. If you are thinking of just sharing straight words, that might feel strange to your followers. But, incorporating a photograph or two, even a gallery at the end, into your words to move the eye along sounds good to me.
    I am always interested in learning more about someone I follow, mixing it up keeps everyone interested and brings on new followers too.
    One of my favorite blogs, Gin Getz, wrote 3 books doing exactly this. She would share excerpts from her writings, photographs and poems in a post once a week, I was instantly hooked on her work. She has since published 2 of those books, the 3rd is in edit now. It is inspiring to follow someone who is on the brink of a creative milestone. Good luck.

    Like

    • Thanks Carrie! I thought about that before with integrating photos with it but with the way the story is it would be hard to use landscape or nature photos to fit in the scenes. I was thinking about using legos to setup some scenes to shoot to accompany the story but I just don’t have the time to do the work for that. I think I’ll post the Prologue and see how that goes first.

      Like

      • I honestly don’t think the images and text need to relate perfectly, or at all really. It is like a way to breathe in between all the text, they can relate or not as much as you like. That is a nice creative element that you can play with. Use what you have, no need to make more images just for this. Looking forward to it.

        Like

  2. I say, it is your blog and you should write if you want to. I would love to read it. Maybe I am biased though as I tend to put stories with my pictures more often than not. You can always use your pictures to compliment your stories. Or, maybe make a certain day of the week/month where you do writing instead of pictures. It’s worth a try at least. Not everyone can do both pictures and writing, so run with your passion:)

    Like

    • Thanks Michelle! The only part that I’m hesitant about is that I wouldn’t have much or any photos to go with my writing that will work and I know that it’s my blog and I can put whatever I want on it, but at the end of the day, I want to share with my followers what they want to see since I created this blog for all of you more than just for myself. For now I think I’ll post the Prologue then see how it goes. Right now I only have a few chapters done so if it does pick up then I’d need to start writing more sooner than later. But then again I’d like to have that motivation.

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

