A New Beginning

Click on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 105mm
Aperture: f/8
Shutter Speed: 1/500
ISO: 400

Trying to get this photo to look the way it does was very difficult. Usually to get this look I would need to export it out to Nik’s Silver Efex Pro but lately I’ve been learning how to work with LR’s Tone Curve sliders in order to get a higher contrast photo. In order to get the leaf to stand out more I ended up dropping the exposure in the background by quite a bit. In the original photo the background wasn’t much darker than the leaf itself. For those that are interested this is a leaf from a grape vine.

 

Side note: It seems like the prologue I posted yesterday for my story took a nice start. In a way the title to this post also applies to my blog a little as it is also a new beginning for for my blog. I’ve restructured the menu to make it easier to find things if you are looking for something specific. I’ve been wanting to go through and tidy up the Categories for all of my photos but have yet to do so. It’s more or less on my list of “things to do” that I’m not sure when I’ll get around to doing it. I’ve also decided that since I’m going to try and keep up with the story that I might as well update the title of my blog as well to allow it to expand past the photography. Just need to think of a name now. Wish I could change the URL but oh well. I don’t really like the idea of creating a new blog and porting things over either. I’ll just live with it I guess.

I’m trying to become more structured in my schedule where I can hopefully find time to process and post photos on a more regular basis. I’ve finally figured out a working schedule that I think I can make work without feeling too tired all the time. Because of that I think I can get back to doing more of what I like outside of work instead of thinking about wanting to sleep most of the time. For now, if I can keep up, I plan on posting the story one chapter at a time on the first Monday of each month. So the first chapter is scheduled for Monday, February 2nd. It’s taking all I have to not post it now but I have to pace myself so too much time doesn’t lapse between postings. I’m hoping to be able to keep up with it and then hopefully that will force me to finally finish it. Something that has always been at the back of my mind the past few years. If I am able to write enough to post every other week then I’ll transition over to that. Thanks to everyone who supports me in my photographic journey and now in my writing journey!

A New Beginning

8 thoughts on “A New Beginning

  1. I would love to learn more about how you managed in LR with Tone Curve sliders. Those curves baffle me at this point, I know they are highly effective though πŸ™‚ Do you have a good resource you used or any advice on how to start?
    Beautiful image, the crispness is remarkable. I really like the sharp metallic tones too. Glad you took the leap with your writings, I wouldn’t worry too much about changing your blog name. If you are only posting writings once a month, it is just a way to shake things up, it isn’t like you are turning your blog into a writing blog now. I wouldn’t stress too much about it. Happy Friday!

    Like

    • Here’s an article that I just found that explains everything quite well:
      http://digital-photography-school.com/lightrooms-tone-curve-explained/

      I actually started using them when researching on how to do cinematic type photos in LR. I wasn’t completely happy with my results but didn’t give up. Once I got introduced to the Tone Curve tool it opened up a whole new world to me. What I did for this photo was change the Point Curve setting to Strong Contrast and noticed quite a bit of change over the Linear setting. I then bumped up the Lights and Shadows sliders then lowered the Darks slider. I’ve basically done the same workflow on all my photos I posted this week and it seems to work really nice. Of course the amount I moved the sliders in each one differed, but I moved the sliders for each photo in the same direction. I think it helps give the photos more of a low key look to them which I like.

      I have a hard time coming up with new names for things so I may just leave my blog name as is. I read through what I have completed for my book so far and had more done than I had originally thought when I skimmed through it the other day. I’ve got the first 4 chapters completed and started on the 5th. It’s roughly about 3,500 words per chapter on average, some are longer and some are shorter. Now I’m contemplating on how much time to take away from photography to work on it but would be happy with 1-2 chapters a month. I guess that’s a good start for now to keep me going.

      Like

      • Thank you Justin, for this great rundown and article. I will look it over for sure. I always see folks use Silver Efex and get incredible results (I don’t have this program). But, this is maybe even beyond what I have seen, really cool! And, yes. blogging can take over…keep it simple πŸ™‚

        Like

What do you think?

