Cliff to a Bug

Click on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 16mm
Aperture: f/8
Shutter Speed: 1/8
ISO: 50

As I was taking sunrise photos I couldn’t help but notice how nice the small cliff like areas looked with the sand. It is very difficult to shoot a subject like this and make it look interesting. Out of about 10 different shots taken at different angles this is the only one that I liked. In any other light though, I don’t think this would look as nice.

I know this is not related to the photo, but have you ever purchased anything for photography that isn’t specifically for photography? For instance, there’s plenty of times I find myself in a situation where there’s water and I am not able to get to the vantage point I want due to not being able to cross a stream/river or the best vantage point is in the middle. Simple solution would be to just walk into the water. But what if it is freezing temps or in the teens and you would need to walk a couple miles to get back to your vehicle not making it worth it to get the photo? My first thought was to invest in a pair of waders. The more I thought about it though, the more I didn’t think I’d like to be wearing waders while hiking around.

A few months ago I started to think outside of photography about different hobbies that would need the type of gear I needed in order to do what I wanted without any extra bulk or weight. Fishing was the first thing to come to mind but I couldn’t find anything that I was happy with. Then I started looking into wet suits but quickly found out that they won’t work because once the temps start to drop too low they don’t keep you warm anymore and they rely on a layer of water to keep you warm. Walking in and out of water constantly wouldn’t help with that. I then stumbled upon dry suits that kayakers use but the price was way too high. After a bit more digging I found dry pants which were much more suitable and at a price point I could live with.

After doing quite a bit of researching and looking I finally found a pair of dry pants that had good reviews and not too much money. I also found a pair of wading boots that seemed to have decent reviews for both hiking and wading. So with a couple visa check cards and some Amazon gift cards I picked up both of them for about $40 out of my pocket. So far I’ve been in moving water with the air temps in the lower 30’s and was able to keep dry and warm with them. The dry pants also come in handy because they allow me to lay down in the snow without worrying about getting wet. I think they’ll also be useful for when it rains. I am hoping to be able to use these to get to better vantage points when I’d otherwise not want to get wet and also in other situations. I had talked about doing this with other local photographers and they couldn’t understand why I’d want to spend the money on such things for photography, but then again they don’t try to get the shots that I do.

When you are out taking photos do you ever wish you had something else to help out with your photography? If so, have you ever done any research into finding non-photography related gear in order to help you out? For me, I think it’s worth the investment if you know you will get a lot of use out of it. I know I will with mine. I’ll be looking forward to the look on other photographer’s faces when I walk out into the middle of the stream when there’s snow on the ground and come walking away with much more unique photos than they do because of the extra gear I have. 🙂

Cliff to a Bug

4 thoughts on “Cliff to a Bug

  1. I was in Laguna Beach last month and had to get some sunset time on the beach. Not watching anything but the sun through my lens, I got soaked by a wave hitting the shore. I saw it in time to lift my camera and tripod but my shoes and socks and about 6 inches of pants cuff were wet all the way on the drive back to where we were staying.

    The only thing I can think of that I have researched which is not purely photographic is a back pack for when I am hiking with gear. I hate having my camera around my neck when hiking and the case I have for camera and lenses is not good, either.

    Like

    • I’ve been there in a way. I was shooting some falls and accidentally stepped in a puddle of water that went to my calf. So I had one dry shoe and one wet shoe. Luckily it wasn’t too cold. I’ve also purchased spikes to slip over shoes/boots that aren’t photography related but very useful in the winter when walking on ice to get a shot.

      I know what you mean about camera bags made specifically for camera gear. They aren’t always the best for hiking but yet good hiking bags might not always be the best for camera gear. It’s nice when you can find something that works for both without costing too much as well.

      Like

What do you think?

