Silhouette

Click on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 105mm
Aperture: f/5
Shutter Speed: 1/2000
ISO: 100

During a sunset I decided to experiment with my macro lens and when I was focusing close on this acorn I noticed how big the sun looked in the background. I never thought about doing a shot like this before. I thought it turned out nice. The hard part was getting a good focus on the acorn though because auto-focus wouldn’t work due to the sun and trying to see the acorn clearly through the lens was difficult because of the sun. This might be something I’ll experiment more with small subjects in the future.

Thought I would mention that I bought myself a new flash yesterday. Nikon Speedlight SB-700. I also bought the Nikon 50mm f/1.8G lens to give a go at some indoor portraits of my kids when I don’t have as much room to work with. I’m also going to try some shots of my new baby once he gets here. But I’ve also already scheduled, or my wife has anyways, a photo shoot with a professional for the new baby as I will most likely not get close to the same results before the baby is too big to get that moment. But putting portrait shooting aside, I will also use this flash for some of my landscape photography. I played around a little with some acorns on dining room table with an orange light modifier that came with the flash and have to say that this is something that I look forward to using in the field. It gave me a bit of a low key sunrise/sunset look without needing to wait for the right conditions outside.

Now to figure out how all the settings work on the flash. Time to learn manual on yet another piece of equipment and when TTL will be more beneficial. From what I’ve learned so far TTL = Smart Auto which can make it more difficult for specific situations in which you want to control the amount of light since it seems to gauge what power to shoot with and the distance from the subject to create a proper exposure. What I am going to find difficult is determining how far away to put the flash from the subject in the mix, which will also be determined by the power of the flash, wish can also be determined by how much or less light I want spread across the subject. So much more to think about than where to set the aperture and shutter speed. And on top of that I’ll now have to ignore the camera’s light meter because with the flash, it has no idea what the lighting conditions will be. I’m hoping in a month or two to create a post on using flash in landscape settings. It’ll most likely be small subjects though since that’s what I’ve been into shooting lately. It would also be nice to be able to recreate the above with a flash, but much more difficult if not impossible altogether. But it would be fun to try.

Silhouette

2 thoughts on “Silhouette

  1. Woots, what is that? Cool shot man. I always thought that you need a long tele to get a big sun. Now I wonder if we can do the same trick if it were a house and not a small object..

    Like

    • Thanks Adhika! In order to do this I had to be very close to the acorn so a non-macro lens may be harder to get the same results with. This photo was only cropped to straighten the horizon, which was barely off, so you could imagine how close I was to the acorn with a 105mm macro lens. If you were to want to re-create this with a large object you would need a very large lens, and I think the sun would need to be much larger as well. Or you can just use the power of photoshop and get a silhouette of any object then take a photo like the one above without any subject then just shrink it down to look small in front of the sun. The tricky part would be to get the border of the silhouette to match that of the acorn on that shot. It’s a bit of a red border from the reflection of the sun off the acorn. That last step would only need to be done if you wanted it to look more realistic though.

      Like

What do you think?

