Sitting on the Edge

Click on the image to view a high res version.

Focal Length: 20mm
Aperture: f/13
Shutter Speed: 1/25
ISO: 100

The sun looks like a small ball of fire sitting on the tip of the ice. When I got this shot there was another photographer to my left about 100 feet away but was getting a more traditional sunrise shot. He had his camera on his tripod standing up while I had my camera on my tripod upside down and laying on the ground. I’m sure he got a nice shot but I know he didn’t get anything that looked like this. I don’t really have many of the normal looking sunrise shots but I can’t let myself let photos like this get away when I have the chance either.

Sitting on the Edge

6 thoughts on “Sitting on the Edge

  1. What a fabulous composition. The dark, cold tones of the water against the warm flecks of colour from the sun and the placement of the sun juxtaposing the sun’s heat with the cold of the ice are perfect.

    Like

What do you think?

